webinar register page

Webinar banner
Quantitative History Webinar Series - Transition to Agriculture and First State Presence [Ola Olsson, Professor of Economics, University of Gothenburg]
Live on Zoom on April 8
16:00 Hong Kong/Beijing/Singapore
09:00 London | 10:00 Gothenburg
17:00 Tokyo | 18:00 Sydney

It has often been observed that the emergence of states in a region is typically preceded by an earlier transition to agricultural production. Using new data on the date of first state emergence within contemporary countries, Ola Olsson and his co-authors present a global scale analysis of the chronological relationship between the transition to agriculture and the subsequent emergence of states. They find statistically significant relationships between early reliance on agriculture and state age in all sub-samples. In this Quantitative History Webinar, Ola Olsson of University of Gothenburg​ will explore how their findings show that this relationship is not markedly different in cases where states were imposed from outside or when they emerged through internal origination.

Ola's co-authors: Oana Borcan (University of East Anglia) and Louis Putterman (Brown University)

*By registering to this webinar, you agree to receive free Quantitative History related materials, including event notices. You can also update your preferences at any time. Existing subscribers newsletter preferences will not be affected.

Apr 8, 2021 04:00 PM in Hong Kong SAR

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Quantitative History Webinar Series.